Who made your clothes?

Mini-documentary on the Rana Plaza factory. Please watch and share.

Just recently, I watched a moving documentary on the horrific Bangladeshi Rana Plaza factory that collapsed in 2013, killing over 1000 workers and injuring many mores. I’ve always known about the exploitation and poor working conditions of outsourced clothes factories, but this was a new reality that jabbed me like a sewing pin.

As part of my degree, I’ve become increasingly aware and disappointed with the level of capitalism in this country that encourages the poor treatment of workers all over the world. The trouble is, many of us simply aren’t aware that our cheap dress from Primark, or the new handbag from Matalan has come at a much bigger price.

Though I try to resist buying from unethical shops which sell unethical products, I confess that it is not always easy. My campaign to myself and my friends to try and stop buying these products doesn’t seem to be making a difference to the fact exploitation still exists.

But, just because it exists, it does not mean we have to support it. We live in the 21st century people and times really have changed. No longer do we need to have people, working their fingers to the bone (literally), nor do we need children to be working for less than 20p a day… At least not for the price of cheap shoes and purses.

We do have a choice. There are options. And we could all make a difference and support those stuck in exploited countries. I wanted to share some of the gems in which I’ve found since choosing alternative places to shop.

www.whomadeyourpants.co.uk/

http://www.peopletree.co.uk/

www.kittydolittle.com

www.juliasmithfashion.co.uk

www.ethicboutique.co.uk

And many more can be found here: http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/womenswear+fairtrade

Please make a choice, the right choice and think of fair-trade before fashion.

 

 

Leave a comment