Going goo-goo for baby items

Having never been maternal and inherently more obsessed with taking as little responsibility for others as possible, I’ve always been in a quandary as to why anyone would want to pro-create. Sure, children say the funniest things and wear impossibly-small shoes that even ants would find snug, but as for having one myself? That’s an expense on my lifestyle both monetarily and selfishly I’m not sure I could ever afford.

When I discovered my brother was having his baby, at first I was worried. Would I be able to love this child like a good aunty should? Will I be desperate to avoid all family get-togethers more than I already do? Will I be forced to partake in ‘baby-mollycoddling duty’? Will I eventually have to play toothfairy to this child if I accidentally, and most-likely, let it play with Lego to which many a pearly white has fallen out over biting too hard?

The baby is due a week before Christmas. More stress. Double presents. God damn everyone born in December. Can people stop having unprotected sex in March please? You’re doing us all a favour. Because of this, I’ve been on baby-present hunting duty, and I’ve actually got mildly excited by the newcomer just by seeing what’s out there.

There’s all kinds of crazy, creative, whacky gifts out there. Nappy changers, handmade legwarmers, baby milk-shot glasses. This baby’s going to grow up cool, fun, individual. And if like me you want to have all baby’s that way, here are some gifts I recommend!

Firstly, the coolest nappy-changer I have ever seen and less than £40. It’s practical, it’s fairly small and it comes in multiple colours:

Truck Diaper Cake - Baby Boy Unique Diaper Cake - Blue Truck - Baby Shower Gift or Centerpiece

Get this gift!

Another awesome (and educational) gift to give to any child you intend to make excited about natural history! Ross from friends would be proud:

Get this gift!

Now perhaps the coolest gift that I’ve seen in micro-fashion which, if I was playing mum I would buy a matching pair, LITTLE LEATHER BABY BOOTIES! They’re hand-made too which is an added bonus so you know your kid is going to be the coolest on the block:

Sweet beaded baby moccasins. For a newborn baby. #babygifts #beadwork

Get this gift!

Check the designer’s Twitter here

Finally – and this is one of my favourites – quirky, arty illustrations to help your child learn to spell and find other words that start with the same letter. It’s educational, it’s funky and again, all individually crafted. What more can you ask for?

Embedded image permalink

Get this gift!

Check out the designer’s Twitter here

Leave a comment