The Time Runner – New Artist

C.V WILLIAMS New Artist Profile

By Rachel Lily

CV Williams is a jack of all trades, master of… well, all. Equipped with a hand full of songs, courtesy of influences from Drake and Kid Cudi, a lip piercing that he can’t stop chewing on, and superhero tattoos trailing up and down his arms, he’s ready to “win ‘em over with his swag”.

The 19 year old r&b come hip hop artist has managed to crawl his way out of the drug-dealing, chav central hell he describes as Luton town, to push himself into a music career. “I knew if I didn’t get out of there, I’d probably have impregnated some girl despite having stabbed her cousin the day before”.

Having begun performing since the age of 8, his confidence bashing started early, having had enough knock backs over the years that he shouldn’t by rights, be able to stand. “I’m not a shy guy, but it’s been hard hearing criticism. It hurts me. But that’s how I come up with more material. I do what I do because I know my music’s good”.  Since then he’s performed at some of the top venues around Southampton including ‘Orange Rooms’ and ‘Soul Cellar’, collecting a small group of followers all looking for the next hip hop artist to hip and hop to.

But has his confidence ever stopped him with women? Obviously not. According to him, he’s providing “the service that all women want”. Tracks such as ‘Drive’ and ‘The Voicemail (Her Interlude)’, which feature explicit details into (cough) the “ins-and-outs” of CV’s sex life, leave very little to the imagination as to what service that is. But the number one woman in his life is, endearingly, his mum. “I lost my dad when I was young. Since then it’s just been me and mum and I couldn’t have asked for a better one. She inspires me”.

It’s not just his mother that inspires him. Fashion and art seem to be a core addition to his music, having released a graphic novel series featuring his mini-self superhero “Timerunner” to accompany his tracks.  That’s not to mention the fashion line he’s designed under the title “Runnerville” to identify the hard core fans from the small fries.

His biggest success to date however, has been working with produce-rapper Darrel ‘WiZKiiDD’ Rose who has worked on other tracks such as ‘Exhale’ and  ‘Massacre M.E’ on his latest independent album release ‘Before the Inc Dries’.

Clearly this is a guy made for the high-top wearing, snap back rocking, hustlin’ generation. He may not be superhero but his music is definitely out of this world.

http://www.reverbnation.com/cvwilliams

Leave a comment